Back To Work Tonight

I’m not one who complains about going back to work. In 2002 when my wife and I decided to adopt, one of the issues we discussed before plunging full force would be how we would make sure the children were safe after school. Trying to develop attachments with both of us working day jobs as managers I think would have been an arduous, drawn out process.

As a result I left my job to pursue an opening at a local community hospital switchboard. They needed someone to work the 11pm-7am shift during the week, so I applied for the job. Even though I was overqualified, I explained my reasoning behind working there- my wife worked days, I could work nights and sleep during the day while my children were at school, then I would be home with them in the afternoons.

It’s been the best job I could ever have. I handle the phones, paging system, and alarms as well as troubleshoot minor computer problems and handle a few computer reports. I’ve been there 7 years and I have a lot of free time to read, listen to music and continue my personal development daily journey.

I made a conscious choice to change jobs because my previous work included group homes for mentally ill adults with serious behavior issues. I didn’t want to have to deal with both 24 hours a day and have to adjust my emotional abilities because when something is a job versus your home life, there has to be a separation between the two. Plus I didn’t enjoy being on call at all hours of the day for issues that could have been handled by the staff at the group home.

So I will be back to work after a relaxing week at home on vacation. I’ll be packing more books and movies to go with me to work, along with my 2 meals and a snack that I eat at work. I find that I require less sleep during the week (5-6 hours a day) and that my stress level goes down. Shocking isn’t it? My youngest daughter will be attending a 6 week day camp starting today, while my oldest will be babysitting for the first 3 days of this week and then helping out my father-in-law with errands the second half of the week.

I thank all of you for taking the time to read this blog- friends, family and new people who may not know much about me. I’m learning the art of getting the word out regarding my writing, and I will start socializing more with other blogs as I do find a great sense of community among fellow bloggers.

In the meantime, I’ve been reading 10-10-10 by Suzy Welch. It’s a wonderful book regarding decision making, and how to handle tough decisions based on a rule of looking at how you would feel about the decision 10 minutes from now, 10 months from now and 10 years from now. When you feel your mind is in a pickle and need a way to look at it from 3 angles, this can be an excellent way to do things. You may not be able to come to an immediate decision and need hours or a couple of days to look at these 3 scenarios, but in the end this can alleviate the stomach churning or half-hearted attempt to make the right decision, but then go back and forth with what choices you make.

Be safe and have a good day.

Leave a Reply

