Car Problems

Well, I haven’t had much time to be around the computer, as real life seems to be kicking my behind. I had to drop off my car to a new mechanic as there was hesitation going on in the lower gears- almost as if the car was misfiring. Turns out there was a fluid leak from one of the hoses, my transmission fluid was low and at the same time I decided to get an oil change. That’s much better than I thought it was going to be.

I went with a recommendation from the guy who fixed my car twice for auto body work when I’ve been hit. I know the owner of the auto body place as he bowls in the same league I bowl in on Monday nights. Trying to find the right mechanic has always been a struggle. Since I’m not very hip and savvy to detect my own problems and know how much true repairs should cost, I’ve had more than my fair share of times getting hosed so to speak in the bills.

One time when I was in my early 20’s I had a blown head gasket in one of my cars. The auto shop didn’t detect this until they put the main engine back in the car- so they figured on the bill it was ok to charge me double labor for their error. I threatened to take them to court if they didn’t adjust the bill accordingly and they decided to take the extra labor costs off.

I think it’s more important now than ever to try to research things on your own, go to other friends and family members you trust to get the best service you can for areas of your life you may not be an expert within. It’s your hard earned money and you want to make sure to make it last.

In the meantime this weekend I will be back on the bowling lanes for the first time in two months. Should feel refreshing to try out a number of new bowling balls at this special demo day in Raymond, NH. Have to get my game back into running shape for the fall. Have a great weekend, thanks for reading these entries consistently, I appreciate the support and commentary.

Leave a Reply

