Sleepovers and Car Repairs

This weekend was a fun filled birthday barrage in my family. My nephew who turned 16 had a party during the afternoon yesterday- and my youngest daughter who will be 12 had her birthday party that evening. We had a sleepover also with 7 girls in our apartment. I’m checking my sanity out right now as we speak.

Growing up, at most I would have 2 friends over for a sleepover- so entertaining 7 girls can be a challenge. Just when you think you have them settled down, they giggle and laugh and carry on about something… which means a serious lack of normal sleep. But my daughter has memories to keep for a lifetime, and that’s what matters most.

I want my daughters to live within safety, and also get as many chances as possible to socialize with their friends in that environment. I understand my wife’s philosophy when it comes to having friends over in our house- the more you get to know the friends of your children, the more you can observe and assure yourself that they are making the right choices. It’s not what I’m used to, but this is another area of change that I’m learning even in my 30’s.

This week I need to send my car out to get a new transmission, which has been a source of stress over the past couple of weeks. Especially when your warranty has expired and you are still making monthly payments on the car- coming up with the extra money has been a challenge. My father and girlfriend have been more than generous in the use of their other car as well as fronting the money for me to pay them back for these repairs- because I don’t want to see myself get in this predicament again.

Lesson I wish I learned 2 plus years ago- research used cars and companies you are unfamiliar with. I had owned Chevy cars for years, so I figured a Suzuki wouldn’t be so bad of a choice… it’s spent more time getting fixed in my eyes than proper use.

So I hope to be back on track with regular posts tonight at work. I find I have more inspiration during the quiet hours of the overnight than the regular weekend days. I thank you for all of your commentary and support- I hope today finds you healthy, happy and wise! Be sure to record all of your victories in some sort of notebook or journal- you need to reflect on the accomplishments and great things you did instead of dwelling on the negative. I find reviewing my positive thoughts before I go to sleep and when I wake up puts me in the best mindset for a complete, worthwhile day.

Leave a Reply

