Relaxation: Recovery for the Self

Do we ever relax? I mean, do you as an individual ever unplug from your computer, your phone, your family, your work, your business and just spend a day unwinding? I think it’s very important for idea generation, for sanity and for energy to be selfish and meet your own personal needs before the pressures of society and life get to you.

My wife and kids for instance today are spending a day at the beach. For me, I just enjoy solitude. I could be comfortable walking around in a book store, taking in a flea market, or going bowling for an hour or two. Vacations do not have to be packed with hour by hour activity. What’s wrong with pampering yourself?

My oldest daughter made me laugh the other day when she made an astute observation about problem solving. She said that some of her wisest thoughts come out when she’s alone with her thoughts in the shower every morning. You have to understand that my oldest has about a million thoughts that run around all at the same time. I think the fact that she’s really not focusing on anything other than cleaning quiets her mind and gives her a chance to relax. As a result, the simplest of problems can be solved just by letting it stew in the brain for days and then coming out at the least expected time.

I will do deep breathing exercises twice a day (once in the morning when I awake, and once before I sleep). I learned about these techniques through a previous job I worked at. We first explored this concept during weekly in house therapy, but the clinicians believed this would work best if the staff led the homes into this twice a day ritual. I found that I would sleep better, have less tension and stress during the day and it improved the overall attitude around the home.I will admit it took a few sessions to completely empty my mind and just let go, but the rewards have been amazing.

I’m sure you can find some tranquil new age or classical music that will help you quiet your mind. Give yourself 5 minutes a day to do these exercises- counting to 10 in the morning and the same at night. Taking in a deep breath for 5 seconds and exhaling for 5 seconds. Make this a family ritual so that everyone can be on the same page with their relaxation.

That’s my plan for this week’s upcoming vacation. I’m going to spend a lot of time around my family, around my books, around my goals- but most importantly I’m going to de-stress. The fall season will be upon us in a little over a month- and with it a renewed sense of beginning as my children go back to school and we get back into our normal family schedule. I’m happy for such a warm summer- and looking forward to tackling my latest goals every day, step by step, and I will be happy to let you know what goes on as I go through the process.

In the meantime, treat yourself. Go for that day spa or massage treatment you’ve been putting off. It’s ok to pamper your body as well as your mind and soul. Let me know some of your favorite techniques to relax and regain focus on the push and pull of your life. Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

