Think Big: There’s Victory in Greatness

I’ve been taking in a great personal development book called The Magic of Thinking Big by David J. Schwartz. It’s a classic that’s been reissued a couple of times- this version is the 4 CD audio book version. I love listening to the examples where you contrast what hasn’t been working versus what you should be doing to make things work. Ultimately in this lifetime, there’s nothing wrong with thinking big and going for the best goals and dreams you have in your mind.

When you were a child, the imagination ran wild and free. We didn’t need the media or our parents or friends to tell us what we were going to be- if we had a dream and a vision for it, we would boldly state “I’m going to be a doctor!” or “I’m going to be an astronaut!” or “I’m going to be a rock star!”. As Les Brown talks about in many of his seminars, we never worried about the how, we just knew we wanted to lead a large life- it would consume our minds, we would seek out books and pictures about it, we may watch all the television shows we could regarding our dreams.

I knew I wanted to do something involving music and writing probably from the time I was 7 or 8 years old. My father played in a country cover band and I would look at pictures of him back in those days. Music was always around the house- I remember listening to oldies on Saturday nights when we would go on trips to visit relatives. I wanted to develop my own record collection as a result, keeping up with artists like Cheap Trick, Hall and Oates, REO Speedwagon, Billy Joel, Elton John, Asia, Boston, Foreigner and Kansas. From there I slowly plunged into the world of metal, discovered the cool tape trading circuit and started writing for fan run metal magazines before my high school years ended. That writing journey continues today.

I envision running my own information product business. I believe I am a teacher at heart, aiding people in providing solutions to their problems, however small or big. Between experiences that I’ve learned from in my own life as well as studying psychology, sociology, brain development, attitude and other self-help, personal development material- I think I can apply a lot of the same framework to areas that interest me and that I believe others need assistance with. Be it developing their own musical pursuits, their bowling, their writing, their own personal goals and aspirations- and a host of other indivudial interests.

Don’t let excuse making or negative thinking put away your hopes and dreams. Where there’s a will, there’s always a way. People who think they are too old to start a new career need to remember- Colonel Sanders of KFC finally sold his secret recipe at 65. Abraham Lincoln went through years of ups and downs, failed businesses and failures at politics before ascending to become president of the United States- in his 50’s. Even if you start on a part-time basis, studying from others who have succeeded in your field of interest- that will give you the impetus to go for it.

Remember the times you would do whatever it took in your neighborhood to make money? I heard about the recent story of Adam Sandler frequenting a child’s lemonade stand while shooting a film in New England, making that child’s day and also a healthy profit in the process. Can you mow lawns, dig ditches, deliver newspapers, offer to run errands for the elderly, shovel snow, make specialized arts and crafts, refurbish items you get at yard sales and make them new, etc.?

If you have people around you who are naysayers, say in your mind “next” and find people who will be supportive of your goals. I’m here to offer advice, inspiration and strength as you go through the day to day business to step into your dreams. There’s always a way to find a solution to your struggles. You may have to brainstorm, dig deep and look to others, but remember you are not alone. Zig Ziglar reminds me that “you can always get what you want in life if you help enough people get what they want.” There’s victory in greatness calling for you- and I hope you are having a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

