Random Thoughts and Observations

Now that my schedule is shifting into the fall routine, I’m enjoying the change in less humid weather and looking forward to my children returning to school. My bowling season started this evening with an up and down league session. The first night of league contains so many varied emotions- anticipation, excitement, nervousness, all wrapped up into one. The desire to perform well out of the gate (which I did, a 268 start) and then the worry over not handling the transitions well (ditto that statement, only finishing with a 623 series). As I get my bowling legs underneath me and better understand my new ball I’m sure I’ll have a more consistent outing for my league nights.

My letter to the editor hit the streets in the October 2009 issue of Success magazine. If you haven’t had the chance to check out an issue, please hit your local bookstore or newsstand and get a copy. The issues are power packed with tools, interviews, an audio CD and features on the best in sports figures, entrepreneurs , money management, personal development speakers and authors. The food for thought and mental fuel alone are worth the price of admission- and you can receive a substantial discount per issue with a 12 month or 24 month subscription. The new issue has features on Serena Williams, Craig Newmark of Craigslist, Lionel Richie, Stedman Graham and a long feature on Taking Charge of Your Money, Time, Attitude, Sales, Personal Brand and Relationships with thoughts from Jim Rohn, Brian Tracy, Deepak Chopra, Robert Kiyosaki, Dave Ramsey, Stephen Covey, Paul Zane Pilzer, Ken Blanchard and many more. The website is http://www.success.com .

My wife and I are making more of a commitment to establishing a date night at least once a month. I think it’s very important to take a step out of being a parent and remember what made you commit as a couple from time to time. I genuinely look forward to these special occasions, even if it’s only for an hour or two during our evenings. Courting, communication, visions between two are constantly evolving and re-shaping- so we need to make sure that we connect not only on a surface level but also look deeper into what we want, what we think and share with each other. Maybe we’ll take part in a new hobby or two as a result, who knows? I’ll keep you posted on my reflections and observations.

The children are away with relatives again before school starts next week. August can be a harsh month in our household- and we’ve learned that if they can blow off steam outside the home, they’ll be all the better for it when they get back into the school routine. We encourage Wii Fit and Resort play as well to burn off excess energy- or taking laps in our pool complex.

As the end of summer approaches and the fall is on the horizon, take time to reflect back on what you’ve been able to do these past three months. If you feel like your life isn’t going in the direction you desire, resolve to seek out help and set a new course of action. Enroll in college courses, find a Toastmasters meeting near you, seek out a mentor in the field of your interest, form a mastermind group with other like-minded people seeking success. It’s one thing to say you want to change- it’s quite another to actually document your plan of action and then execute and implement day by day.

I hope you are having a wonderful day as you are reading this- and live life to your fullest potential!

Leave a Reply

