Try Something New: Continual Growth

I’ve been listening to Mark Victor Hansen’s Dreams Have No Deadlines, a 6 CD audio set where he talks about various aspects of keeping yourself young. One of the areas I’m going to explore revolves around developing something new for continual growth. For some people that can be new language acquisition- for others it may be taking lessons at an activity or sport you’ve always wanted to try but never put into action. It could be something as simple as devoting 30 minutes a day in the morning to inspirational reading material, or a new exercise/ fitness/ nutrition program.

One of my goals that I set a few months ago when beginning this blog is to write every day on a different topic. I’ve been fortunate enough to devote my energy into this- no matter what life events or challenges have been thrown my way. Some people may set aside a specific 30-45 minutes a day to do this- but I find my best times are just when I feel like I have something important to say, the laptop is near and I can type out the words as the inspiration and drive hits me.

My next goal over the following 60-90 days is double the readership of this blog. I conduct research an hour or two a day to learn more about what it takes to gain and sustain readership, so if any of you have ideas on how to help make this happen, please feel free to share. I encourage all of the current readers to turn 2-3 people that they know on to my blog, and hopefully they can gain the same level of encouragement, dream-making and decision help that you’ve gained through many of my entries.

A long term goal that I always want to achieve is becoming a published author. I plan not only to write one book but a series of books, as I love helping people achieve their dreams and I think I can pass on a lot of knowledge through my life experience and personal journeys in a myriad of fields. One of my missions in life is to move lives in a positive, uplifting and fulfilling direction- as I want people to know that anything they view as a problem should be looked at merely as a challenge, and that re-framing can allow you to breakthrough to victories you never thought previously could be seen.

In order to receive abundance in your life, I believe we need to challenge ourselves and add one new skill to enhance our life, our work, our passion every 3-4 months. If you want to become a better musician, reach out to the best musicians in your local world and write down the questions about the industry you want to know. Study your mentors and learn more to become more. If you want to become better at any sport, don’t just say you’re going to get additional training or coaching- go out and do it. Another set of eyes can give you 4-5 ideas that even if one of them catch on, could accelerate your abilities a hundred fold.

Training in another field could apply mental, intellectual or physical development in another strong suit of yours. I know that running, walking and biking for instance help in my bowling performance, because if I didn’t have a strong core it would be tough to repeat shots consistently from frame to frame and especially game to game in longer tournament sessions.

With humans leaving longer, healthier lives, there’s no excuse for you not to reach out and accomplish all that you dream and desire to do. Spend a few hours writing out 100 or a 1,000 things you want to accomplish, skills you want to learn, causes you want to be a part of, places you wish to travel to, people you would like to meet and be in the presence of. Look within your circle of co-workers, friends and family members and see if they know people who could help you to make the ideas reality for you.

I’ll be sharing some of my plans in future blog entries, I’d love to hear some of your dreams and goals and thank you again for all of your support.

One Response to Try Something New: Continual Growth

  1. I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read.. 🙂

    -Bill-Bartmann

Leave a Reply

