Current Reading and Random Thoughts

I never know with these entries whether I should start with the reading or with the thoughts. Let’s go with the latter first, shall we?

I give two thumbs up to the property manager and the company who took over for the previous management where I live. They probably aren’t happy to inherit all of the plumbing and heating issues that came up, but they are handling things the right way. When they run into problems, they are honest and forthcoming to the tenants about what’s going on. A few summers ago, we endured a series of days without running hot water in the middle of a heat wave, and the answer from previous management at the time was, “we’re working on it,” without giving us a definite time frame of solving the problem or conceding some of the rent we pay to have to go to other houses to take showers.

My daughters appear to be happier today, and that’s a good thing. Maybe the long holiday weekend will give their minds a chance to relax and they can work on their issues with us peacefully. It’s hard for me not to get sucked in to their drama when you see they are arguing over the silliest little things in the world. If there were ever a game show for humans who can push other people’s buttons, my two daughters would be consisting champions.

As for my current reading material? Well let’s take a look, shall we?

Stop Acting Rich- by Thomas J. Stanley

Many of you may know of The Millionaire Next Door series of books, where this author looked into the traits and characteristics that make up millionaires. Stop Acting Rich looks at the different aspects of people who are rich versus people who live beyond their means to attain a rich lifestyle. Thomas provides case studies into items like favored cars, watches, clothing, types of housing and so forth. I think you would be surprised to find that many deca-millionaires (net worth of at least $10 million) will spend less than $20 on average for a haircut. I’m two-thirds of the way through this book and I think it’s essential for anyone to read to help you understand where the average millionaire truly spends their income and what they do with their money.

Three Deep Breaths- by Thomas Crum

A small parable, this short book should help the average person who feels stressed out about their hectic, fast paced life to be able to relax a little with the principles of centering, possibility and discovery. I’m beginning to enjoy these types of books as they help integrate personal development and self-help concepts through a fictional story.

Smart Networking- by Liz Lynch

This is the first book I’ve seen that applies networking concepts not only through a face-to-face model but also looks at the social website explosion, specifically recommending Facebook and LinkedIn as crucial for connections. Liz intermingles her case with real life success stories from a variety of professionals. She also believes in a time and a place for networking- which differs from other successful networkers who believe you need to be doing something all the time to meet people. This caught my eye at my local Barnes and Noble and I think will be a permanent reference book in my library.

Other books I plan to get to this weekend include:

The Introvert Advantage- by Marti Olsen Laney
The Customer Rules- by C. Britt Beemer and Robert L. Shook

I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend. I’ll be off from work for the next three days, but checking in when I can. Be sure to smile at people- you’ll be amazed how much the energy lights up your environment.

Leave a Reply

