Give to Live: Provide Meaning and Purpose

Too many times we get wrapped up in our own worlds to not think about the things that really matter. We wouldn’t exist in this universe without the support and help from others. It starts when you are young with your parents, your siblings, your aunts and uncles and your grandparents. As you grow up you develop relationships with friends, co-workers, classmates, sports teams or clubs you may be a part of- learning to balance your own needs with the needs of others.

I find that when I feel my life is going through turbulent times, it’s the perfect situation to step outside of myself and give to others. Be it a kind word, a helpful ear to listen, transportation if I can provide it, the right guidance for resources- you don’t necessarily have to give in terms of finances to be truly helpful to someone else.

What stops people from giving? Usually a lack of asking the right questions. I think it’s human nature to want to feel wanted, and I think more people would volunteer in terms of their time and effort if they would be asked to give.

What stops people from getting what they want out of life? Once again, asking themselves the right questions and seeking out the experts to help them accomplish this. People feel like they would be seen as foolish to ask, so they’d rather go about aimlessly searching themselves in frustration than just seeking out the right person who can cut their learning curve in half or more.

I’m willing to ask different questions when it comes to bowling to expand my knowledge base. I’ll seek out other writers in the music field and study their craft and also ask questions so I can become a better writer. Don’t be stingy in terms of your admiration either- these people need to know how much you respect their work as the encouragement and feedback does wonders for their work as well.

Find out from one of your closest friends where he or she sees their lives going within the next 3-5 years. See if there’s a way that through your network of contacts if you can help them get on the right path to achieve their goals. I’m always willing to extend myself wherever I can for the support of others. Sometimes my circles of different interests collide, other times they don’t- but I’ve made it a point throughout my life to be a giver without expecting anything in return.

If I can help one person every day achieve more out of life than they expected, that’s something that makes me feel special. If I can give hope to someone who isn’t sure of the next move to make in their lives, then that’s a good thing. There are a lot of people in this world who struggle to make sense of day to day life, and if I can provide inspiration and keys to action through what I discuss, then I feel like I’m doing something good.

Similar to my previous post about recognizing the military more than just on Veteran’s Day, we can give of ourselves more than just on the holidays. You may discover what you are truly passionate about and go in that direction- such as one of my friends who is now back involved in the fitness industry after a detour for most of her adulthood. I may not have all the answers, but I think I can help steer many people in the right direction. Train your giving nature like a muscle, I think you may be astonished at the good things that come your way as a result.

Leave a Reply

