Books I’m Reading This Week

Cruising into this weekend will be a number of books to keep me company. As you know I pick out as much as I can to fuel my personal growth, so here are some of the selections that I will take in over the next 5-7 days. I spend at least a couple of hours a day reading, and I find that keeping at least one book around me at all times keeps me sane.

The 22 Immutable Laws of Marketing- Al Ries and Jack Trout

This book is one of the treasures for business marketing. They lay out these laws with real-life examples from many of the smaller and bigger businesses who’ve been successful through the years. Considering I have many ideas for future businesses on the table, I figure it’s important to learn from the experts who’ve studied successful marketing campaigns and see if there are any tips or tools I can use to make things smoother.

Training Camp- Jon Gordon

A fable about excellence. A rookie for the NFL tries out for a training camp and runs into an excellent coach who shares life changing lessons about taking people to the top. I know for many years I didn’t appreciate these fictional stories turned into life lessons- but I find that these double level stories work both sides of my brain.

The 10-Minute Energy Solution- Jon Gordon

Yes, I got two books by the same author. This one would be a non-fiction step by step guide to increase your energy while reducing your stress and transform your life. Knowing all of the events that take place in my world (especially with raising two daughters), anything that can possibly help in quieting my mind a little more and channeling my feelings in the right direction is a good thing.

In the meantime, I wish everyone a happy, safe weekend. If you haven’t taken the time recently to visit your local library, do not be afraid and take the plunge. Library cards have the best price in the world: Free! Expand your mind, explore your horizons and gain new skills in the process. Be it fiction or non-fiction, improving your reading and writing skills, learning a new language or just learning how to better surf the internet- the library is a goldmine at your disposal, as long as you are willing to take the time to go there and use it.

If any of you have suggestions of books you want to learn more about in the personal development, self-help, financial or business fields, let me know and maybe I will develop some weekly summaries and discussions about these books. I’m also open for suggestions on detective novels, as I’m an avid mystery reader through the years.

Leave a Reply

