What I Could Do

Based on the events of my past 24 hours, there are a number of things I could do emotionally and physically to express my frustration. I could cry. I could beat the ground. I could throw things. I could yell and scream and curse. Any number of angry and aggressive overtones that may make me feel good temporarily, but won’t get to the bottom of any problem solving.

Instead I’m choosing to be thankful for what I have. I can breathe. I can walk. I can talk. I can drive. I have a good job that helps support my family. I have a loving, stable support system with my wife, my daughters, my family and my friends. I have a warm apartment to keep me safe from the chilly climate. There’s no sense in dwelling on the negatives because if I’m able to put one foot in front of the other and plan things out, everything will fall into place.

I have a 10 day vacation on my plate to be with the children. I’ll be able to get some things straightened out that need to be fixed, and also get the chance to just recharge my personal batteries and go into 2010 with some more gusto. I want to be able to balance my emotions with regulation, looking at things from a wider perspective so as to not get caught up in the moment when I’m feeling frustrated, scared or angry at the events surrounding me.

I trust that if I focus on what I need to take care of, the rest will fall into place. There’s no sense in sweeping my problems under the rug. Due to natural wear and tear, big ticket items can have setbacks and we just need to take care of them to make them last as long as you can. I’m thankful for the service station manager for instance who led me to another mechanic who can fix one of my problems with a sensor at a fraction of the cost I would incur going directly to a dealership. I made the point of discussing the problem, and by putting the word out in the right way I can save myself time, money and mileage to get the issue rectified.

If you live in a state of helplessness, whining and moaning about the problems of your world and then cutting people off in conversation when they offer advice, you are leading the life of a victim. I don’t want anyone to thing my life is a tragedy- because it’s not. That’s why I’m choosing to hold my head up high, tackle each item that comes up right then and there and work on solutions.

I had the chance to take in an interesting audio clip from Jack Canfield where a woman got 10 copies of a paper she needed photocopied at a store that doesn’t specialize in this (like a Kinko’s or Staples). She continued to ask the right questions which led her to the manager, and then the manager willingly tested 2 different photocopiers for her to see the quality difference, making 5 copies each of the paper she needed. When the test was done, the woman walked out the door with what she ultimately wanted- and didn’t accept ‘no’ or ‘we don’t do that’ as a final answer.

You never know if you can get a discount or an upgrade unless you ask. What’s the worst that can happen- you’ll be in the same boat whether you ask and don’t get it or you never ask. Put yourself in the right frame of mind and you’ll be surprised how much more you get out of life that you wanted.

I’ll keep asking for what I want. Have a great day and night!

Leave a Reply

