Help Wherever You Can

A child with their homework. An adult who needs a car door open when their hands are full of groceries. A fellow college student who needs assistance getting their paper just right with a second set of eyes. A boss who needs a presentation tidied up over the weekend. I’ve always been of the belief that if you have the ability to do something to help a fellow human being, then why not show them you can- especially if it’s something that comes natural and easy to you.

Writing is something I find pleasurable in all aspects. There were years in college where I felt the push and pull and stress of professors who challenged my thinking, my execution and my outlook on life- yet I believe I came out stronger and better with what I’m able to accomplish. I took a class my sophomore year that looked at the structure of sentences and grammar from a math perspective, and diagramming prepositions, adjectives, and adverbs became second nature to me.

I learned where to be expressive and where to be succinct. How to show and not tell. The power of words and the weight they carry when used in proper proportion and perspective.

I wouldn’t know the first thing about how to fix gear shifts, transmissions or the starter on a car. My mind does not engage well when asked to put together a book case from wood, nuts, bolts, a screwdriver and a set of directions. But I also know that with my limitations I can seek out better people who are suited to make sure my car runs smoothly and the bookcase stands straight and tall. I’m not afraid to ask for help.

I challenge you to write a list of 5-10 things you are naturally very good at- it can be things around the house, particular hobbies or interests, or even skills that you use at your workplace. Then think of people that could use your help and offer your assistance, or look for situations when you are out in public to help. Pay attention to people who ask deeper questions about an area of your interest. Don’t be afraid to engage in conversations about areas of their interest that you may be weak in and want to gain strength from.

I’m also not afraid of learning when I feel like I can find an expert through my local network of friends and family. The internet is an amazing tool to give you cursory information as well as the tools to seek out more thorough, advanced knowledge and skill acquisition. The librarians know me by first and last name, they understand that I feel like I can never learn enough about self-help, marketing, business, finances, personal development, psychology, philosophy and a whole host of sub-subjects under those headings.

Turn people into superstars and you’ll be amazed how good you feel seeing them ascend to the stars. I always believe it’s better to bring someone up than to tear someone apart. This tends to be a time of year where people work on New Year’s Resolutions- a fresh start if you will. Become an accountability partner to a friend in need and not only give them your confidence and be in their corner, but also be willing to help provide tools and resources so they achieve their dreams.

Somewhere in your life, someone gave you that attention and spark you needed to move forward when you didn’t think you could accomplish something. That’s why I think it’s important to not let your natural talent go to waste, help others to help themselves and the world will be a better place for this.

Leave a Reply

