Limits At Zero

Thank you. I love you. I’m sorry. Please forgive me.

I need some way to cleanse myself, so I’m reminded of this through Joe Vitale’s book Zero Limits. We as humans need to let go of certain limiting beliefs that hold us down and give ourselves permission to live a better life.

My youngest daughter’s psychiatrist believes she’s living in her own version of an ideal reality, and doesn’t want to look in the mirror and see what true reality is. So if something doesn’t work in her life, it becomes a constant push and pull struggle. If I don’t get what I want, neither should anyone else. If you buy so and so something, you have to get me something and it doesn’t matter how I’ve treated you in the last 5 minutes, 5 days, 5 weeks, 5 months or 5 years.

We have another meeting tomorrow afternoon which I hope goes much better than this afternoon’s. The in house therapist observes the struggles communicating with her and tells me the obvious- to pick my battles. Would you like to tell me which one seems the most important when she wants to be obstinate and defiant about everything? You can tell her to not go into a bedroom on the phone and then 3 seconds later she’s headed to that bedroom as if she never heard what you said. When she feels hunger and it’s snack time, she’ll claim there’s nothing she likes in the house full of food and wants to have another regular meal instead of crackers, fruits or vegetables.

We may have to shape her at home program to resemble a tight residential program. Will this be acceptable to my older daughter who doesn’t need that kind of structure? I feel very sad that my oldest feels like she’s only getting 1% of her attention needs met in the household right now. She’s well aware that even when she does spend 1 on 1 time with mom, the younger one instantly comes up with a problem, illness or ailment to get the focus back on her.

I guess school vacation couldn’t have come at a better time. We need to come up with action plans that will make everyone feel comfortable and that my daughter is willing to at least comply to. We aren’t asking for the tantrums to stop. We know that anger is a struggle for her and we are willing to help her develop appropriate coping skills. We just can’t have our house be a daily battle field where everyone is on guard instead of being relaxed.

I have a new book to read about parenting from noted pitbull personal development author Larry Winget called Your Kids Are Your Own Fault. I’m sure there will be plenty of good nuggets to apply to my situation as I read through the pages. I’ll let everyone know more about my thoughts on this book upon its completion.

I thank all of my friends and family who’ve been there for me, my wife and my children over the years. Even if it’s just been another set of ears and eyes to take things in and offer your thoughts and experiences, you really help me understand that I am not alone in this journey.

Thank you. I love you. I’m sorry. Please forgive me.

Leave a Reply

