Valentine’s Day

The mall teams with people looking for those last minute cards and special gifts of appreciation and admiration. For others, the day represents everything that appears to be very wrong in their world. Valentine’s Day can put a lot of pressure on us to profess our love as a little more special than on the other 364 days of the year.

When I was single and alone, I wished the day would come and go quickly like a passing wind. Many of my friends had long term relationships and would do special dinners and gifts for their loved ones… and here I was just looking for someone to love. Now that I have the love of my life in my life (and we’ve been together for over 11 years), we take the time to reflect on the special moments within our relationship. The secret laughs, the roses I had delivered to her office, the bad movies we took in, the decision to adopt and bring two beautiful daughters into our family. I feel blessed because I not only have my wife in my life, she truly is my best friend who can put up with my struggles to look beyond and see the good within me.

We can silently look at each other and hold hands to remain content. We can laugh about a rough day at work or within our home and not go to bed angry. She makes me a better person because I’m more outgoing around her, more willing to take risks that earlier in life I would have played closer to my chest.

It’s my hope that I make her world a better place too. Love grows and endures because we are willing to work at it. People change as the years go by and you need to be able to learn their communication preferences, their views on affection and love and the expression of it. Don’t be afraid to ask for clarification and plug into the other person if you are worried about individual needs and wants being met. Being open and honest has been the cornerstone to keeping our relationship vibrant and healthy.

So make today a great day for all the couples in the world. If you are an individual seeking love, send a special message, note or card to someone you know in your world who may be seeking love to. You don’t have to face this day feeling left out and alone. Cupid targets anyone and everyone willing to believe in the power of love.

Remember to express love and admiration for people in your world each and every day. What you give will come back to you multiplied. It’s one of the unique qualities about humankind.

Leave a Reply

