Random Thoughts For The Weekend

I’m not feeling so well still, fighting off sickness. Here are some of my random thoughts going into the weekend.

In the grand scheme of things, take other people’s opinions much like a grain of sand or salt. The ultimate decision maker whether it’s something you need to think about implementing immediately or an aspect you’ve been running through for years is up to you and you alone. It’s perfectly fine to run things by others and converse to look for particular viewpoints and insights you may not take into account- but in the end make the decision yours and stick by it/ live by it.

When there are problems coming up in your life- talk with people, not at them. This seems to be a common theme coming up with my daughters over the past few weeks. They feel anxiety about a particular issue in their lives, immediately come into contact with myself or my wife and then lash out in terms of tone or attitude about something completely different. I’m not a monster in any sense of the word- but I do deserve to be spoken to respectfully. We may not be able to get to the bottom of the issue and solve it- yet I feel much better when we use feeling words and express our thoughts without condemning or acting like a victim in the situation at hand.

If all else fails and you need some mood shifting, close your eyes, take deep breaths and count out to 10. Maybe put on some energetic, uplifting music and just dance around the house. Cleaning can do wonders for your mood. See if there’s a particular area in your apartment or house that really needs purging and set up some bins for trash and donation. The more we are able to clear clutter from our lives, the better we will feel physically and emotionally.

Hug your children early in the day, as often as you can through it, and express your love and admiration for them before they go to sleep at night. Make them feel like each day is just as special as the next. You would be surprised if you visualize how you want things to go how much you can successfully avert some of the battles you’ve previously faced. It’s something I need to get back to for both children in my life. They may say they don’t need this- but as humans we need that physical and verbal connection every day.

I’ll be going to another bowling tournament this weekend. I have high hopes for another strong performance. I use the drive time to put my mental game in motion, listening to uplifting material from a number of personal development and business speakers I have on CD. It makes the time go by so much quicker. Then when I’m ready to get to the lanes I have my game face on and it’s time to stay in the moment, thinking shot by shot. When you’ve been participating in an activity or sport for over 30 years as I have with bowling, I know the game is much more about the preparation and proper practice as the natural ability kicks in like clockwork.

Prepare some affirmations that you can laminate and carry around with you on a 3 X 5 index card. Practice these positive thoughts four times a day- breakfast, lunch, dinner and before bedtime. Add your biggest goal you want to accomplish or a good habit you wish to establish over the next 90 days if you’d like. The more you place the thoughts in front of you, the more the world will work in your favor to achieve what you desire. Until next time…

Leave a Reply

