Stop, Look, and Listen

It’s perfectly acceptable from time to time to seek feedback from those closest to us. They are willing to look outside and see if you are doing something right, something wrong, or possibly something you may not even pick up that needs some course correction.

Our kids notice that we don’t get as often a chance to eat together as a family as they would like- so we are working on making it a point to do this at least 3-4 meals a week as well as the weekends. My wife was listening to Mel Robbins over the weekend on our local talk radio show and heard a study that states women nag men far too much, causing serious health issues in the long run. I’ve seen my wife work more on this issue over the past few months, even before hearing of this talk.

Do not be afraid to schedule a fun night with your friends. Take up a new interest that you’ve always thought about trying but for whatever reason never took the time to pursue. Even if it’s another friend you buddy up with that will experience this same hobby or passion for the first time, you’ll be able to add a new skill to your tool bag.

We don’t want our lives to be so predictable that we come to the point of exhaustion or boredom. We need time around others, even if we only get the chance to see them once in a while, to give us the energy boost to take on our own lives from a new found, fresh perspective. There’s never a time where I feel that my daughters can’t have my full attention, especially if they need someone just to be supportive of what they’re going through and listen.

My wife and I will spend a couple of hours often in bed just talking about the day’s events, our fears, our victories, our worries, and give each other the support we need when we are becoming the best parents for our children we can be. I don’t mind stepping outside of myself to help others- especially if I feel I can provide them multiple perspectives in looking at their situation. I believe listening has always been one of my better qualities- maybe it’s from my years of interviewing bands- but I think it comes in handy more so than attempting to give quick bits of advice.

There’s always help on the horizon, you may just need to express yourself in the right way to get it. Sometimes we can solve our problems instantly, at other times we have to go through a slow, build up process to reach an eventual conclusion years down the road. Never give up. Believe in your own abilities, look at your own challenges and the victories that occurred through the years.

Zig Ziglar’s famous quote states, “You can always get what you want if you help enough people get what they want.” I want the people in my world to be healthy and happy, and if they need my support I’ll always be there for them to the best of my ability. Take care of each other and have a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

