A Swing In Your Step

Ever have one of those days where you wake up excited, ready to take on all tasks with gusto? It’s as if you want to bottle up those moments for the times when you need more of a pick me up. We find those days usually happen when we are engrossed in activities that energize us or we chose to be around people who are life lifters so to speak.

I’ve been fortunate enough through the years that most of the employment I’ve had, whether self-employed or working for a company, has me feeling this way. Sure there may have been a certain amount of chaos or stress when it came to management positions, but I found that I liked working with the people and didn’t feel like I couldn’t drag myself out of bed to tackle the next day. I prefer working in environments where certain tasks may be the same, but overall the day to day atmosphere can bring about a newness in terms of the secondary tasks I encounter and /or the people I deal with.

When it comes to music, that’s probably one of the best reasons I have a swing in my step. I get great joy and comfort in exposing myself to a variety of artists from around the world, gaining the chance to interact with them, go to their shows, interview and expose them to the world. I find the energy and passion flow through me in terms of the words I use to describe what I hear- and these bands and their albums give me a great pick me up when I’ve had a chaotic, emotionally charged day with my family.

Remember the little swing you receive when your heart goes aflutter at someone you are first dating? Or the time you accomplish something in your life you never thought you could achieve? I love seeing the confidence in my girls for instance when they are able to earn their own money for a job well done, or when they achieve good grades at school. They are working hard at improving their social skills, and we are teach them to balance out their wants versus their needs in life.

Think back to the proudest moments you’ve had through your life. Close your eyes and bring them back to the forefront of your mind. Envision the sights, the smells, the sounds- bring the pictures as close up as you can possibly see. Capture those feelings and remember them when you think you can’t push yourself over that next hurdle or obstacle placed in front of you. Don’t let anger or frustration get the best of you- calm your mind and let creativity astound you.

If you think you can, you can- and if you think you can’t, you’re probably right about that as well. Sometimes we have to fake it until we make it- so study people who are being and doing what you want and see if you can gain insight and experience from them. Take their swing and emulate or modify it to make it your own. Successful people have to come from somewhere- and it’s usually through the knowledge and skill plus application and action.

Keep up the good work, thanks again for reading this and I’ll talk to you again soon.

One Response to A Swing In Your Step

Leave a Reply

