Start of Vacation

It’s the beginning of my work vacation. My daughters will be off as well for their school vacation. We are planning some day trips so we can get out and do things, but we aren’t going very far away. That’s fine with me though. I firmly believe that you need to engage in a number of relaxing activities to regain productivity in both your work life as well as your personal life.

We are taking advantage of the passes our local library offers for discounts to enjoy some community outings we want to engage in. So we will go to a local aquarium and a few museums that we want our children to enjoy. I’ll be able to get more music reviews and interviews in for my creative pursuits. I’m sure I’ll be writing daily in my journal, and also make sure to get in 60 minutes of reading per day.

It will be nice to get regular sleep for the week as well. My body does get used to sleeping on 5-6 hours a day, and I think I’ll be able to do more with a couple more hours of sleep per day. It’s just resetting my body clock so that I can face the future with the promise of a better family and a better life overall.

Some of the books I will be reading over the next week include material by Seth Godin, Brian Tracy, and Douglas C. Merrill among others and I’m sure I will take notes and discuss the best of their ideas that I want to apply to my life. I like having a variety of material to take in, from personal development to finances to organization to self-help and self-improvement. I enjoy the journey, the continual learning and application directly to areas of my life that I know I can get better at.

My oldest daughter will be participating in animal therapy starting next week, and has started the process of working with a therapy mentor. She needs consistent support in terms of her self-esteem as well as working on the trauma and teenage issues that seem to be colliding at the same time. We want her to know that we are patient, we are loving, we are kind and we will be there in the long run. If I could take those pieces of her life out and change the picture for the better, I would. The keys are using her therapy skills in the moment- and knowing when to seek outside help if she feels like she can’t handle it all.

I think I’ve babbled on enough for now. Take care of yourself, decide to work on one area of your life that you feel needs improvement and set it up on a calendar for a 30 day learning experience. Maybe you can cut out soda for 30 days, maybe you can exercise a minimum of 20 minutes a day for 30 days, maybe it’s consistently reading for an hour a day for 30 days. Challenge yourself, grow, stretch and I think you’ll be surprised with the benefits.

Leave a Reply

