Choices For Today

I choose today to be happy for my wife and I on our 9th wedding anniversary. It may have been a rainy day, but I feel we’ve been blessed with a great marriage. We are able to handle the ups and downs of life with a sense of humor, and we learn to communicate through the good times and challenges without bitterness. We enjoy the little things in life as much as the bigger things. We get excited when the other returns home from work, and we look forward to many more years together.

I choose to accept where my children are at in terms of their mental health. I hope that they are willing to continue to resolve their issues. They can be angry about the choices we’ve had to make- but as parents it’s our responsibility to make this house a safe place for people to come home to. I only hope in the future they realize that you can still receive good guidance from elders without those elders going through a lot of the experiences you went through growing up. It’s time to turn a new leaf and realize that your past does not dictate your life’s destiny- you can change the course whenever you put your mind and heart into it.

I choose to participate in life every day. There’s no sense in me letting time go by idly without learning, growing, caring and sharing. Education does not end when you complete your schooling- at whichever level you are at, understand that newer information comes at us from all directions. The most successful and adaptable people are ones who believe that they can learn from others, learn from the past and present to provide an even better future.

I choose to be grateful for what I have within my life. I have a great job, I have a wonderful place to live, I have a great family and friends who lift me up and are around me because they want to be. I don’t ever want to take the kindness, generosity and support of others for granted. Remember that the more you maintain and put into your mental, emotional, physical and spiritual health- the better your life will be in the long run.

Think about your own choices today. Think about ones that you’ve been making that you are happy with and continue to look at what makes them important to you. Think about the habits you want to change- write them down- and then pick one to set a 30 day trial for change. Find the appropriate resources, set the goal and then write out a daily action plan for success. Imagine if you did this for 12 areas of your life that you want to see change- if you set a 30 day trial for each you could see incremental, sustainable change happen on a month to month basis.

Slow down and take care of yourself. The choices you make today can impact your total lifestyle months and years down the road. Become the best person you can.

Leave a Reply

