What I Can Work On

Humans didn’t come out at birth with an instruction manual. We do come encoded with DNA from a set of parents, and then as we grow up we have to learn through trial and error plus guidance and experience how to live, breathe and function effectively. I know I have areas of my life that I need to work on.

My wife is helping me understand that sometimes it’s not the words that I say, but the delivery and tone that matter so much more in conversations with her. Because I’m someone who likes to have a plan the day before knowing what’s going to happen and what I have to accomplish, being flexible and ready to rise to the occasion at the drop of a hat is another area I struggle to wrap my head around. I hem and haw, sigh and get frustrated- and instead of internalizing these emotions, I will often lash out at the person closest to me when I shouldn’t.

I can work on my health- for myself and for my family. I want to live a long life, but if I don’t get enough sleep, exercise and eat and drink adequately and in moderate amounts, I will shave years off of my mortality. I want to live to see my daughters get married, become a resource to them in their adulthood and also spoil future grandchildren and great-grandchildren.

I will work on developing my talents and abilities for the benefit of others. I feel like I have a lot in my head that I can help others with- not just in terms of my writing but also in terms of teaching. Learning all of the tools that are out there on the internet and using them to the best of my ability is a start. Bowling, writing, reading, psychology, and personal development are areas that come naturally to me.

What are areas that you can work on? Think of three things that you want to improve over the next 12 months- and get started on the action steps. Maybe you’ve been wanting to go back to school- maybe you want to start a brand new business- maybe you want to connect more with your family and friends- maybe you want to learn a new skill or play a new sport- maybe you just want to lose a few pounds or get in better shape.

We can all work on something to improve our lives for the better. You don’t have to make a drastic improvement overnight- small, incremental changes will add up over the course of a lifetime. If that means you take an hour or two away from the television to accomplish your new goals, then so be it. Be in the present so you can have a wonderful future. Ultimately you have to care about your own well being or you’ll be at a loss in your golden years.

Leave a Reply

