One Simple Choice

You have the power of choice within your hands everyday. You can interpret your day as good or bad based on how you view life. Many people succumb to the notion that the world is out to get them. Others view certain aspects of life as not within their control and they maintain focus on the areas that they can control. Whatever you choose, understand that these simple choices are within your capable hands.

My daughters right now struggle with choice, especially when in crisis. If they feel disappointment, shame, anger or fear- they tend to lash out with their next choice on the person closest to them. Whether with words or with actions, the danger becomes pushing that person so far away that when you are in real need of their help, will they be around for you or will they make you go it alone?

My wife and I are simplifying areas of our personal lives. Whether it’s cutting back on work hours to make sure one person is around more for the children and their appointments or taking away luxuries and placing an emphasis on what we need versus what we want, we work together as a team to make sure that the family can stay connected and strong.

I love to read, but I haven’t been buying as many books as I normally would. I’ve been taking most of the summer off from bowling which frees up a lot of my spending. I don’t look at this with resentment- it’s my simple choice to throw my attention into other areas- be it card and board games, reading and listening materials from the library, and engaging in more outdoor activities where my expenditures are minimal. I’ve never been the type of person that has to feel like I’m spending a lot of money to have a good time. I enjoy and cherish what I have around me.

So don’t be afraid to simplify your life. Make the small choice to spend 15 minutes a day clearing up an incomplete in your life. Maybe there’s a closest you’ve always wanted to tidy up. Maybe you have some extra clothes that you don’t wear that could find a good home with Goodwill or the Salvation Army. Maybe you can bake some extra goodies for your neighbors or a homeless shelter that would welcome donations. Maybe you can sit down and read that long forgotten book you’ve meant to. Maybe you can take up a new hobby and find friends to share in the experience.

Make that one simple choice. Don’t sit on the sidelines any longer. You have only one life to live- and once time is spent, it can never be put back on the clock. You don’t want to be sitting there 30 years from now wishing you had accomplished and seen and done more than you’ve chosen to do. Put down the excuses and take that step forward. You’ll be glad you have in the long run.

Leave a Reply

